About Alex

Alex Piggott is in his first year as a Director of Post Grad Basketball / Head Coach of Prep National in 2023-24. Born in Abergavenny, Wales and a native of Overland Park, KS. Piggott returns to DME following a year as a member of the University of Washington Men's Basketball Support Staff. Prior to a stint at UW, Piggott spent three years at Montverde Academy. In his 1st season, he served as an assistant coach for the 2019-2020 varsity team under Coach Kevin Boyle. 2019-2020 season, the team finished 25-0 and were named MaxPreps National Champions. The 2019-2020 roster included 3 McDonald's All-Americans, 4 future 1st round NBA draft picks, (Cade Cunningham, Scottie Barnes, Moses Moody, and Dayron Sharpe). While at Montverde Academy he also spent time as an assistant coach for the post graduate program. The most recent season, the post graduate team finished with a 30-5 overall record and made a run to the Elite 8 at the 2022 Prep National Championships in Hartford, CT. Piggott won the Montverde Academy CBD Coach of the Year in 2021.  Prior to Montverde Academy, Piggott spent 2 years as the director of basketball operations/assistant coach at DME Academy. Piggott handled the day-to-day operations for the boys high school and post graduate programs, while also assisting Coach Wesam Al-Sous with the post graduate national team. Piggott was essential in the recruitment of future Iowa Hawkeyes Keegan and Kris Murray to DME Sports Academy’s post graduate program for the 2019-2020 season. Piggott spent a summer as an intern for HoopGroup in the summer of 2017. Piggott started his journey towards coaching at Kansas State University in 2015, as he served as a student manager for head coach Bruce Weber from 2015 to 2017.  Piggott earned his Master of Education in Intercollegiate Athletic Leadership at the University of Washington in 2023. He also earned a bachelor's degree in Business Marketing from Kansas State University in 2017, while he also earned an associate degree from Hutchinson Community College in 2014.